DG Mike and Lion Jayne

Great News

Great News: We are doing well with our membership. At the recent State Convention, it was announced that every District in Tennessee has added a new club and has positive membership growth for the year! District 12-N added the ETSU Campus Club and was at +2 membership growth on April 26. Clubs need to meet my most recent membership challenge to ensure that we finish the year with positive growth. If your club has inducted new members this year, please make certain they are in the Lions Clubs International (LCI) System.

Great News: We are very close to meeting our White Cane Goal for the year. Our White Cane Goal for this year was $44,000 and we have now received $42,000. We are just $2,000 short of reaching our goal. Clubs need to send in their White Cane donation for the year. A number of clubs have not contributed to White Cane this year. If your club has not yet made a donation, please discuss this at your next meeting and take appropriate action. We can do this.

Great News: We now have our leadership in place for the next three years. Lion Ed Gibbons from the Johnson City Lions Club will serve as our District Governor next year. Lion Fletcher Stephens from the Farragut Lions Club will serve as our First Vice-District Governor.  And Lion Paulette Bailey from the Loudon Lions Club will serve as our Second Vice-District Governor.  Past District Governor (PDG) Wendy Cain from the Oak Ridge Lions Club will serve as our Global Leadership Team Chair, and PDG Dave Crawford from the Farragut Lions Club will serve as our District Membership Team Chair for the next three years.

Great News: Many individuals from District 12-N have recently been honored. At the State Convention, Lion Don Britton received the LCI Presidential Medal for his 42 years of service at Lions Volunteer Blind Industries (LBVI), and received the LCI Presidential Certificate of Appreciation for his many years of service with the Morristown Cherokee Lions Club. PDG Dean Harshbarger and Lion Nellie Harshbarger with the Norris Lions Club received the LCI Presidential Certificate of Appreciation for their three years of service as Guiding Lions for the Jellico Area Lions Club.  Lion Nellie Harshbarger was honored as District 12-N Lion of the Decade and also as the Tennessee Lion of the Decade. Lion Brandon Johnson with the ETSU Campus Club was honored as the District 12-N Lion of the Year.

Three Lions were recently honored at their clubs with Melvin Jones Fellowship Awards. They are Lion Carolyn Broyles with the Greeneville Lions Club, Lion Moe Greenwood with the Knoxville Tri-County Lions Club and Lion Fletcher Stephens with the Farragut Lions Club.

Also, PDG Bill McDonald with the Campbell County Lions Club was elected by state convention voters to serve on the Tennessee Lions Charities Board of Directors for a three-year term of office.

When the going gets tough, the tough get going. I am proud that this news shows that a lot of Lions in District 12-N have gotten tough and have gotten going this year. Thanks for all of your efforts.


Comments are closed.

Comments are closed.